News

The Birmingham Section started 2015 with a political reception at the Murray Building Co. jobsite at the old Merita Bread Bakery. More than 150 members were in attendance with city and state officials. Everyone enjoyed a tour of the site as well as barbecue from Joe McNabb and Hendrix Chevrolet.

Legislative Alert

We cannot overstate the importance of your relentless participation in this effort for the next week.  Rep. Mac McCutcheon (R-Huntsville) has introduced an infrastructure funding bill (HB 394).  The bill will travel in the house with SB 180 - The Alabama Transportation Safety Fund - by Senator Gerald Dial (R-Lineville) which has already passed the senate.

The bills will be in the House Transportation Committee tomorrow (Thursday) at 8:00 a.m..  We feel good about he votes in committee.

INFORMATION ON THE BILLS AND CONTACT INFORMATION BELOW!

HERE IS A SAMPLE LETTER ALL CAN USE.
 

Specifically:
Safe and effective road and bridge infrastructure is essential to keeping Alabama economically competitive. Quality infrastructure is paramount to attract and retain job creators, keep drivers and passengers safe, and maintain a high quality of life for our citizens. Alabama’s competitiveness is suffering because of reduced buying power due to three factors: inflation, increased costs of construction and maintenance, and decreased fuel usage based on more fuel-efficient vehicles.
Road Conditions: Nearly 50 percent of state highways are in fair, poor or very poor condition (ASCE Report Card).
Long-Term Economic Growth: In a 2013 survey, corporate executives ranked highway accessibility as the second-most important factor when selecting a new site (Area Development Magazine).
Return on Investment: Each dollar spent on road, bridge and highway improvements in Alabama results in an average benefit per person of $5.20 (FHA).
Vehicle Maintenance Cost: Driving on roads in need of repair costs each Alabama motorist an average of $320 per year in additional vehicle operating maintenance (AIRC).
State Responsibility: We must manage our own infrastructure – the federal government cannot provide a long-term solution to transportation funding challenges
Fatalities: Alabama ranked 5th for states where drivers are more likely to be involved in a fatal traffic accident (NHTSA). A total of 4,321 people died on Alabama’s highways from 2009-2013 (FHWA).
HB 394 Summary:

  • Dedicated: Deposits all new revenue generated by the bill into the Alabama Transportation Safety Fund as established in SB 180 (see back for more details)
  • Regionally Competitive: Establishes the average of Alabama’s border state’s gas tax as the benchmark for our gas and diesel taxes using the totals as determined by the American Petroleum Institute. Currently, that average is .26 cents which would result in an increase of .06 cents per gallon in diesel and gasoline effective Oct. 1, 2016
  • Sustainable: Provides for benchmarking of the rate of Alabama’s gasoline and diesel fuel taxes into the future by maintaining the linkage between Alabama’s tax rates and those of the border states. The adjustment would take place in October of 2019, 2023 and 2027.
  • Accountable: The adjustment could be blocked by a vote of the legislature via a Joint Resolution.
  • Fair: Provides for an additional tag fee on “alternative fuel” vehicles of $100 for personal vehicles and $150 for commercial. This amount represents approximately half of the annual amount of gasoline tax that would be paid by these vehicles if they utilized only petroleum products.
  • Reform: Requires any future local laws regarding local fuel taxes to be voted on the ballot via a public referendum. Also, allows for a public referendum at the county level on a local tax of .02 cents per gallon should the legislature block the benchmarking in future years as outlined above.
  • Responsible: It further includes language ensuring there is no reduction in county road programs, as they exist today. This means local governments cannot divert existing road program revenues for other non-road and bridge projects.

SB 180 - Alabama Transportation Safety Fund - reforms the current system of managing, operating, and investing in Alabama’s roads so that it creates transparency, accountability, and oversight of state transportation expenditures. During these tough economic times, taxpayers, especially small businesses, are already carrying a heavy burden, benefits of a proposal should outweigh the costs for existing taxpayers.

SB 180 ensures that 100% of any new revenue must be fully dedicated to road and bridge construction and maintenance and protected from diversions to other state programs or agencies.
SB 180 Summary:

  • Responsible: The Alabama Department of Transportation (ALDOT), counties, and municipalities would be required to use funds on road and bridge projects and not on salaries or administrative expenses;
  • Transparent: ALDOT would be required to announce annual projects and post quarterly progress reports on its website. Counties and cities would be required to adopt annual plans that identify the road and bridge projects for the year and post the plans throughout the district. County and city engineers must provide annual written reports detailing the expenditures made during the prior fiscal year;
  • Local Priority: Provides the first $32 million of any increase in revenue to counties via the Alabama Transportation Rehabilitation Improvement Program (ATRIP) that would allow for an additional ATRIP program of up to $300 million to expedite construction in every county;
  • Consistent: After the first $32 million in new revenue, the current distribution formula between the state, counties, and cities will be followed: 65.9 percent to the state and 34.1 percent to counties and cities;
  • Local Sustainability: If a growth or indexing component is included for new revenue, the ATRIP element would be expanded further to allow for an additional $32 million for local projects.
  • Equitable: Provides for $500,000 to be distributed to each county, that must be let via contracts, in lieu of the $533,000 in federal dollars each county gets currently in order to provide more certainty and flexibility to counties;
  • Accountable: Expands the ATRIP Committee to include local government and business representatives.

We need you and your employees to contact house members and urge them to vote for both of these bills.  A copy of the white paper may be accessed HERE.
 

District

Heading

Cell Phone

Email Address

District City

1

Phillip Pettus

2567622916

pjpettus@aol.com

Killen

2

Lynn Greer

2564128695

greerllc@bellsouth.net

Rogersville

3

Marcel Black

2567102063

marcel@bellsouth.net

Tuscumbia

4

Micky Hammon

2566544462

mickyhammon@gmail.com

Decatur

5

Danny Crawford

334-242-7600

danny.crawford@alhouse.gov

Athens

6

Phil Williams

2564410201

philhouse44@gmail.com

Huntsville

7

Ken Johnson

2564763777

kenjohnsonrep@gmail.com

Moulton

8

Terri Collins

2562270360

terri@terricollins.org

Decatur

9

Ed Henry

2566429821

ed.henry0@gmail.com

Decatur

10

Mike Ball

2565656225

mikeball@knology.net

Madison

11

Randall Shedd

2565316641

randall.shedd@alhouse.gov

Cullman

12

Corey Harbison

2563382605

corey_harbison@yahoo.com

Cullman

13

Connie Rowe

2055221659

connierowe1404@aol.com

Jasper

14

Tim Wadsworth

2053844357

wadsworth.tim654321@gmail.com

Arley

15

Allen Farley

2059607526

allenfarley@bellsouth.net

McCalla

16

Kyle South

2053934496

ksouth@watvc.com

Fayette

17

Mike Millican

2054954611

repmikemillican@gmail.com

Hamilton

18

Johnny Morrow

2563240450

morrow.johnny2@gmail.com

Red Bay

19

Laura Hall

2566562301

annihall19@gmail.com

Huntsville

20

Howard Sanderford

2565084815

hs1989@aol.com

Huntsville

21

Jim Patterson

2569757990

jimpattersonhd21@gmail.com

Meridianville

22

Richie Whorton

2566796490

allstar@nehp.net

Owens Cross Roads

23

Tommy Hanes

4238835162

jhanes55@gmail.com

Scottsboro

24

Nathaniel Ledbetter

2566019839

ledbetter@farmerstel.com

Rainsville

25

Mac McCutcheon

2566553764

c.mac.mccutcheon@gmail.com

Huntsville

26

Kerry Rich

2565820619

kerryrich@bellsouth.net

Guntersville

27

Will Ainsworth

2563021724

wainsworth@dreamranch.org

Guntersville

28

Craig Ford

2563909920

craig@hodges-ford-insurance.com

Gadsden

29

Becky Nordgren

2563281653

clearimagesal@earthlink.net

Gadsden

30

Mack Butler

2563123128

mnbelect@bellsouth.net

Rainbow City

31

Mike Holmes

3342241347

mike.holmes@elmore.rr.com

Wetumpka

32

Barbara Boyd

2562831983

repbarbaraboyd@cableone.net

Anniston

33

Ron Johnson

2568721731

ronjohnson968@gmail.com

Sylacauga

34

David Standridge

2059604679

dstand@bellsouth.net

Hayden

35

Steve Hurst

2565892852

repstevehurst@att.net

Munford

36

Randy Wood

2562399190

rwoodsr36@cableone.net

Anniston

37

Bob Fincher

3348634249

rsfincher77@gmail.com

Woodland

38

Isaac Whorton

7067730193

isaacwhorton@charter.net

Cussetta

39

Richard Lindsey

2564841232

rep.richardlindsey@tds.net

Centre

40

K. L. Brown

2564530384

klbrown@cableone.net

Jacksonville

41

Mike Hill

2052818981

mhillcolum@aol.com

Pelham

42

Jimmy Martin

2053891735

jimmymartin61@yahoo.com

Clanton

43

Arnold Mooney

2052228721

arnold@arnoldmooney.com

Birmingham

44

Danny Garrett

2054104637

dannygarrett44@gmail.com

Pelham

45

Dickie Drake

2052814428

ddrake1080@aol.com

Leeds

46

David Faulkner

2052506604

dlf@csattorney.com

Birmingham

47

Jack Williams

2058625041

jack@jackwilliams.org

Vestavia Hills

48

Jim Carns

2053149808

jwcarns@yahoo.com

Birmingham

49

April Weaver

2055416424

aprilweaver@att.net

Alabaster

50

Jim Hill

2059360633

judge1721@gmail.com

Moody

51

Allen Treadaway

2056476817

bsketa@aol.com

Morris

52

John Rogers

2053064275

jwrogers1234@gmail.com

Birmingham

53

Anthony Daniels

2563232008

anthony.daniels@alhouse.gov

Huntsville

54

Patricia Todd

2055679410

reptodd@gmail.com

Birmingham

55

Rod Scott

2058375673

rodhscott@gmail.com

Fairfield

56

Louise Alexander

2052533782

louise.alexander@alhouse.gov

Bessemer

57

Merika Coleman-Evans

2059199411

dist57@yahoo.com

Birmingham

58

Oliver Robinson

2052664288

orobinson@aol.com

Birmingham

59

Mary Moore

2052299966

mamoor48@bellsouth.net

Birmingham

60

Juandalynn Givan

2054920094

3007j@att.net

Birmingham

61

Alan Harper

2053917885

salanharper@gmail.com

Aliceville

62

Rich Wingo

2057066644

rwingo@uaassurance.com

Tuscaloosa

63

Bill Poole

2053104648

poole@gpr-law.com

Tuscaloosa

64

Harry Shiver

2514546713

harryshiver@aol.com

Bay Minette

65

Elaine Beech

2517692457

elainebeech83@gmail.com

Chatom

66

Alan Baker

2513639101

staterep@co.escambia.al.us

Brewton

67

Darrio Melton

3344132820

darriomelton@gmail.com

Selma

68

Thomas Jackson

3346367446

jthomase@bellsouth.net

Thomasville

69

Kelvin Lawrence

3343036118

kelvin.lawrence@alhouse.gov

Hayneville

70

Chris England

2056571657

cengland@tuscaloosa.com

Tuscaloosa

71

A. J. McCampbell

3343413485

ajmc1@bellsouth.net

Livingston

72

Ralph Howard

3345072023

ralphahoward.7288@yahoo.com

Greensboro

73

Matt Fridy

2058700555

mdfridy@gmail.com

Birmingham

74

Dimitri Polizos

3343983481

d.polizos50@gmail.com

Montgomery

75

Reed Ingram

3343996819

votereed@gmail.com

Montgomery

76

Thad McClammy

3342247606

thadmcclammy@aol.com

Montgomery

77

John Knight

3342217445

john.knight@alhouse.gov

Montgomery

78

Alvin Holmes

3343994084

alvin.holmes@alhouse.gov

Montgomery

79

Mike Hubbard

3343322828

hubbard@aunetwork.com

Auburn

80

Chris Blackshear

 

chris.blackshear@alhouse.gov

Phenix City

81

Mark Tuggle

2563922006

tughd81@gmail.com

Alexander City

82

Pebblin Warren

3342206198

tiger9127@bellsouth.net

Tuskegee 

83

George Bandy

7065661764

gcbandy1@bellsouth.net

Opelika

84

Berry Forte

3346879985

berry.forte@alhouse.gov

Eufaula

85

Dexter Grimsley

3343138847

wlmdex@hotmail.com

Newville

86

Paul Lee

3347983681

pwlee@graceba.net

Dothan

87

Donnie Chesteen

3344491040

dchesteen@panhandle.rr.com

Geneva

88

Paul Beckman

3343001780

paulbeckmanjr@yahoo.com

Prattville

89

Alan Boothe

3346701130

aboothe@troy.edu

Troy

90

Chris Sells

3343008578

csea@centurytel.net

Greenville

91

Barry Moore

3343891021

barrymoore91@gmail.com

Enterprise

92

Mike Jones

3348048240

mljatty@andycable.com

Andalusia

93

Steve Clouse

3345451733

steve@troycable.net

Ozark

94

Joe Faust

2513776118

jfaust@baldwincountyal.gov

Fairhope

95

Steve McMillan

2519782278

bcld07@gmail.com

Bay Minette

96

Randy Davis

2517095619

randalldavis14@gmail.com

Daphne

97

Adline Clarke

2514040857

aclarke97@gmail.com

Mobile

98

Napoleon Bracy

2516228118

napoleon@napoleonbracy.com

Mobile

99

James Buskey

2514630154

jamesbuskey@alhouse.gov

Mobile

100

Victor Gaston

2514022096

hvgaston04@yahoo.com

Mobile

101

Chris Pringle

2516043357

chrispringle@southerntimberlands.com

Mobile

102

Jack Williams

2513311979

bwms@zebra.net

Wilmer

103

Barbara Drummond

2512085480

barbara.drummond@alhouse.gov

Mobile

104

Margie Wilcox

2514218309

mwilcox@mobilebaytransportation.com

Mobile

105

David Sessions

2514900117

d.r.sessions@att.net

Grand Bay


Information provided to the AGC from the ARBA.