News

The Birmingham Section started 2015 with a political reception at the Murray Building Co. jobsite at the old Merita Bread Bakery. More than 150 members were in attendance with city and state officials. Everyone enjoyed a tour of the site as well as barbecue from Joe McNabb and Hendrix Chevrolet.

HB 394 - Mac's funding bill update

With only five days remaining in the session, we have reached a critical stage in our efforts to generate funding for road and bridge projects with the passage of HB 394.  Actions are underway that could yield an opportunity for our issue to reach the House floor for a vote next week.  Remember, the BIR is no longer an obstacle.

This opportunity means that over the weekend we need to retouch every member of the Alabama House of Representatives.  We have attached the original listing that details who is responsible for contacting each House member.  It is essential that we all focus on making contacts this weekend.  Particularly, focus on the speaker's leadership team.  It is in those meetings, not so much the caucus lunches, where they discuss the issues and where the reservation on our issue stems.  We do, however, need to touch everyone.

Talking points:

--Our efforts to pass HB 394 have not concluded. Those supporting new revenue for roads and bridges have been working hard over the last three weeks to clear a path for a House vote.  We are confident that an opportunity will take place this week.

--Rep. Mac McCutcheon will offer a floor substitute to HB 394 that simply increases the gasoline and diesel fuel tax by 6 cents per gallon and provides a modest annual tag fee for "alternative" fuel vehicles.  The substitute will NOT include any future adjustments in the rate of the tax or the tag fee.

--All proceeds are deposited into the Alabama Transportation Safety Fund created two weeks ago with the passage of SB 180.  The revenue cannot be spent on salaries, equipment or any construction other than roads and bridges. The Fund legislation includes unprecedented reform, accountability and transparency.

--It will cost the average driver less than $5 per month but will produce a marked increase in revenue going to the local level -- including a $300 million bond issue that will be spent directly on county and city project -- and will allow revenue to address long over-due state projects.

--The revenue generated for roads and bridges in each county can be found at http://www.alabamacounties.org/estimates/

It is important that we work toward a solid House vote count over the weekend and by 5:00 p.m. on Monday.  Even if we already have information from your contacts, please reconfirm the members' intention regarding the substitute version of HB 394.

You can send Chris Williams an email at caw@alagc.org. Please do so by 5:00 p.m. Monday.

Heading

Cell Phone

Email Address

Lobbyists

Phil Williams

2564410201

philhouse44@gmail.com

ACEC

Mack Butler

2563123128

mnbelect@bellsouth.net

BCA

Adline Clarke

2514040857

aclarke97@gmail.com

BCA

Mike Ball

2565656225

mikeball@knology.net

BCA/ ALFA

Matt Fridy

2058700555

mdfridy@gmail.com

BCA/Gaines

Mark Tuggle

2563922006

tughd81@gmail.com

Blades/Windom

Donnie Chesteen

3344491040

dchesteen@panhandle.rr.com

Blades/Windom

Alan Baker

2513639101

staterep@co.escambia.al.us

Blades/Windom

Paul Lee

3347983681

pwlee@graceba.net

Blades/Windom

David Standridge

2059604679

dstand@bellsouth.net

ALFA

Jim Hill

2059360633

judge1721@gmail.com

ALFA

Patricia Todd

2055679410

reptodd@gmail.com

F&G

Bill Poole

2053104648

poole@gpr-law.com

Brasfield

Chris England

2056571657

cengland@tuscaloosa.com

Brasfield

Reed Ingram

3343996819

votereed@gmail.com

Brasfield

Chris Sells

3343008578

csea@centurytel.net

ALFA

Randy Wood

2562399190

rwoodsr36@cableone.net

Brasfield

Mike Holmes

3342241347

mike.holmes@elmore.rr.com

Brasfield/BCA

Dickie Drake

2052814428

ddrake1080@aol.com

Brasfield/BCA

Harry Shiver

2514546713

harryshiver@aol.com

CAW/Windom

Dimitri Polizos

3343983481

d.polizos50@gmail.com

CAW/QH

Marcel Black

2567102063

marcel@bellsouth.net

Clark/Windom

Richard Lindsey

2564841232

rep.richardlindsey@tds.net

ALFA

Allen Treadaway

2056476817

bsketa@aol.com

Clark

Steve Clouse

3345451733

steve@troycable.net

Clark/Windom

Victor Gaston

2514022096

hvgaston04@yahoo.com

Clark

Jack Williams

2513311979

bwms@zebra.net

Clark

Margie Wilcox

2514218309

mwilcox@mobilebaytransportation.com

Clark

David Sessions

2514900117

d.r.sessions@att.net

Clark

Arnold Mooney

2052228721

arnold@arnoldmooney.com

CRT/BCA

Danny Garrett

2054104637

dannygarrett44@gmail.com

CRT/BCA

Jack Williams

2058625041

jack@jackwilliams.org

CRT/BCA

Allen Farley

2059607526

allenfarley@bellsouth.net

ALFA

Jim Carns

2053149808

jwcarns@yahoo.com

CRT/Sorrell

John Rogers

2053064275

jwrogers1234@gmail.com

Gaines

Rod Scott

2058375673

rodhscott@gmail.com

Gaines

Merika Coleman-Evans

2059199411

dist57@yahoo.com

Gaines

Mike Hill

2052818981

mhillcolum@aol.com

Galliher

Chris Pringle

2516043357

chrispringle@southerntimberlands.com

Layfield

Corey Harbison

2563382605

corey_harbison@yahoo.com

ALFA

Kerry Rich

2565820619

kerryrich@bellsouth.net

Layfield

Craig Ford

2563909920

craig@hodges-ford-insurance.com

Layfield/F&G

Steve Hurst

2565892852

repstevehurst@att.net

Layfield

Jimmy Martin

2053891735

jimmymartin61@yahoo.com

Layfield

Thad McClammy

3342247606

thadmcclammy@aol.com

Layfield

Alan Boothe

3346701130

aboothe@troy.edu

Layfield/F&G

Kyle South

2053934496

ksouth@watvc.com

John Ross

Ken Johnson

2564763777

kenjohnsonrep@gmail.com

Layfield/BCA

David Faulkner

2052506604

dlf@csattorney.com

Layfield/BCA

Steve McMillan

2519782278

bcld07@gmail.com

Layfield/weeks

Barry Moore

3343891021

barrymoore91@gmail.com

Layfield/weeks

Micky Hammon

2566544462

mickyhammon@gmail.com

QH

Tim Wadsworth

2053844357

wadsworth.tim654321@gmail.com

QH

Laura Hall

2566562301

annihall19@gmail.com

QH/F&G

Alan Harper

2053917885

salanharper@gmail.com

QH/F&G

Darrio Melton

3344132820

darriomelton@gmail.com

QH/F&G

Thomas Jackson

3346367446

jthomase@bellsouth.net

QH/F&G

Kelvin Lawrence

3343036118

kelvin.lawrence@alhouse.gov

QH/F&G

A. J. McCampbell

3343413485

ajmc1@bellsouth.net

QH/F&G

Ralph Howard

3345072023

ralphahoward.7288@yahoo.com

QH/F&G

George Bandy

7065661764

gcbandy1@bellsouth.net

QH/F&G

Berry Forte

3346879985

berry.forte@alhouse.gov

QH/F&G

Dexter Grimsley

3343138847

wlmdex@hotmail.com

QH/F&G

Napoleon Bracy

2516228118

napoleon@napoleonbracy.com

QH/F&G

Anthony Daniels

2563232008

anthony.daniels@alhouse.gov

QH/BCA

John Knight

3342217445

john.knight@alhouse.gov

QH/Brasfield/F&G

Joe Faust

2513776118

jfaust@baldwincountyal.gov

QH/Brasfield

James Buskey

2514630154

jamesbuskey@alhouse.gov

QH/F&G

Juandalynn Givan

2054920094

3007j@att.net

QH/F&G

Barbara Boyd

2562831983

repbarbaraboyd@cableone.net

QH/Sommer

Alvin Holmes

3343994084

alvin.holmes@alhouse.gov

QH/Sommer

Phillip Pettus

2567622916

pjpettus@aol.com

Ross

Lynn Greer

2564128695

greerllc@bellsouth.net

Ross

Richie Whorton

2566796490

allstar@nehp.net

ALFA

Tommy Hanes

4238835162

jhanes55@gmail.com

ALFA

Nathaniel Ledbetter

2566019839

ledbetter@farmerstel.com

Ross

Will Ainsworth

2563021724

wainsworth@dreamranch.org

Ross

Bob Fincher

3348634249

rsfincher77@gmail.com

Ross

Isaac Whorton

7067730193

isaacwhorton@charter.net

ALFA

K. L. Brown

2564530384

klbrown@cableone.net

Ross

Rich Wingo

2057066644

rwingo@uaassurance.com

Ross

Mike Jones

3348048240

mljatty@andycable.com

Ross

Randy Davis

2517095619

randalldavis14@gmail.com

Ross

Ed Henry

2566429821

ed.henry0@gmail.com

ALFA

Mike Hubbard

3343322828

hubbard@aunetwork.com

Ross

Randall Shedd

2565316641

randall.shedd@alhouse.gov

ALFA/Brasfield

Terri Collins

2562270360

terri@terricollins.org

Sommer

Howard Sanderford

2565084815

hs1989@aol.com

Sommer

Jim Patterson

2569757990

jimpattersonhd21@gmail.com

Sommer

April Weaver

2055416424

aprilweaver@att.net

Sommer

Mary Moore

2052299966

mamoor48@bellsouth.net

Sommer

Elaine Beech

2517692457

elainebeech83@gmail.com

Sommer

Barbara Drummond

2512085480

barbara.drummond@alhouse.gov

Sommer

Mike Millican

2054954611

repmikemillican@gmail.com

Sommer/ Layfield

Connie Rowe

2055221659

connierowe1404@aol.com

Sommer/BCA

Louise Alexander

2052533782

louise.alexander@alhouse.gov

Sommer/QH

Pebblin Warren

3342206198

tiger9127@bellsouth.net

Sommer/QH

Becky Nordgren

2563281653

clearimagesal@earthlink.net

Stewart

Oliver Robinson

2052664288

orobinson@aol.com

Stewart

Johnny Morrow

2563240450

morrow.johnny2@gmail.com

Weeks

Ron Johnson

2568721731

ronjohnson968@gmail.com

Weeks

Paul Beckman

3343001780

paulbeckmanjr@yahoo.com

Weeks

Mac McCutcheon

2566553764

c.mac.mccutcheon@gmail.com