The Birmingham Section started 2015 with a political reception at the Murray Building Co. jobsite at the old Merita Bread Bakery. More than 150 members were in attendance with city and state officials. Everyone enjoyed a tour of the site as well as barbecue from Joe McNabb and Hendrix Chevrolet.

2017 Alabama Construction Hall of Fame Inductees

Jim Rein, Ben M. Radcliff, Dale York and Ty Cole were inducted into the Alabama Construction Hall of Fame during the Alabama AGC BuildSouth Awards Banquet on January 13th at The Club.

The Alabama AGC established the Alabama Construction Hall of Fame to honor and recognize outstanding individuals in the construction industry. These individuals are held in esteem by their peers and have demonstrated their professionalism through active support of the industry and through their civic and community involvement. In short, only those who have literally changed the landscape of our state and nation will be enshrined in the Alabama Construction Hall of Fame.

One must have served the Alabama construction industry – as a general contractor, a specialty contractor or supplier, an architect or an engineer – for at least 25 years to be eligible for the hall of fame.

See their induction videos here >

This year’s inductees certainly rise to that standard.

Previous Hall of Fame Inductees

2016 - Lowell K. Christy, PE, Christy/Cobb, Inc., Thomas E. Doster III, Doster Construction Co., G. Gray Plosser Jr., FAIA, KPS Group, and William K. Whitesell Jr., Whitesell-Green, Inc.

2015 – Don Brown, Brown Studio Architecture; David Hare, BL Harbert Construction; James Harbison, Brasfield & Gorrie; Uday Bhate, Bhate Geosciences.

2014 -- Robert P. Barnett, P.E., Barnett, Jones, Wilson, LLC; Patrick Davis, CMH Architects, Inc.; Leroy McAbee, McAbee Construction, Inc.; Earlon McWhorter, McWhorter and Co., Inc., and Sam Moore, The Moore Corporation

2013 – Jamie Aycock, Giattina Aycock Architectural Studio; Alain J. Gallet, Terracon Consultants; The late Leon Goddard, Brice Building Co., Inc.; William A. Hunt, Gulf-Atlantic Constructors

2012 – Richard E. Barrow, Jung/Brannen; Frank M. Cater, CRS Engineering, Inc.; James S.M. French, Dunn Construction Co.; the late W.S. “Billy” Newell, W.S. Newell, Inc.

2011 – Robert E. AlmonAlmon Associates, Inc.; Jim Anthony, Brasfield & Gorrie General Contractor, LLC; Daniel D. Bennett, Dean of the College of Architecture Design and Construction at Auburn University; the late Norman Walton, Sr.  – J. S. Walton & Co., Inc.

2010 – James Floyd Pate, Sr., Major L. Holland, Richard Saliba and Glenn Bishop

2009 – D. Riley Stuart, Joseph P. Giattina Jr. and Henry T. Hagood Jr.

2008 – The late Benjamin Hogan Craig, Jr., William W. Herrin, the late J.V. Rives, Jr., Charles H. Sain and Norman Walton, Jr.

2007 – Bill Harbert, W.K. Upchurch, Jr., and Bill Caton, Sr.

2006 -- Houston Brice, Sr., Hugh Daniel and John Harbert

2005 – John Caddell, founder and chairman of the board of Caddell Construction Co.

2004 – M. Miller Gorrie, founder and CEO of Brasfield & Gorrie

2003 – Winton “Red” Blount, founder of Blount International

2002 – George Edwards, former owner of Richardson Construction

2001 -- the late D.W. “Bill” Ellard, Ellard Contracting Co., Inc.; Paul B. Krebs, Paul B. Krebs & Associates; Nicholas H. Holmes Jr., Holmes & Holmes Architects.